Logging Into Third-Party Services – How Is My Information Stored and Kept Safe?

Avatar
by Santino Scibelli
Follow

Hello and thank you for visiting our ScreenCloud Help Center. This article will go through a brief overview of how your login information is stored and encrypted when logging into third-party services when using various different apps from our App Store. Examples of this are Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google, Microsoft, and others that require login information to use certain apps with ScreenCloud.

Table of Contents:

 

Access tokens: Keeping your information secure

The process is the same for all of our apps that require you log into a third-party service (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, etc.). Internally, ScreenCloud cannot and does not have any access to view any of your usernames, passwords, or sensitive information registered into the apps. All we are provided with is what is called an "Access Token", which we may use to login to the aforementioned services on your behalf when you use any of our apps that require to log into another website.

You can consider this an in-between or buffer to help keep your information encrypted and secure. For example,  if you were to log into your Facebook account with one of our apps, an access token is then provided to our system that allows ScreenCloud to connect with your account. There is no access to this data, the tokens are kept private to protect your data and also have an expiry date. ScreenCloud will continuously refresh these access tokens that are used to keep you logged into these apps, without having to request login access from you again (unless you are adding a new instance of an app). 

Access tokens can also be directly managed through your service also that you are connecting with ScreenCloud, so at any time you can either approve or revoke access from any of the accounts you have connected with our service. For example, you log into your Facebook account to connect with the Social Feeds for Facebook app in our store. You will receive a message after logging in with your account to grant permissions for ScreenCloud to connect:

Screen_Shot_2018-11-30_at_2.35.16_PM.png

To successfully connect your account, you would have to grant ScreenCloud this permission.

 

How to revoke ScreenCloud's access to your personal accounts

You can revoke any grants for apps that you give ScreenCloud access to at any time. There are support articles available from each service you use that walks you through how to revoke a third-party app (such as ScreenCloud) connection and access to their service. Here are some examples below for your reference, you click on any of the links below to view a support article on how to revoke app permissions for the following services:

Please Note: If any of these URLs do not work at any time, please contact us and let us know so we can update this as soon as possible. Additionally, you can also do a general Google search for how to revoke app access for any service or visit their website's support center to review the steps as well. 

 

If you have any additional questions or concerns on how your login information for third-party apps is stored or encrypted, or any other questions or feedback about ScreenCloud, feel free to reach out to our support team at support@screencloud.io or give us a call at +1-415-449-5426, then follow the prompts to reach support.

 

Comments

0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.